Balancing work and study can be one of the biggest challenges students can experience. I remember looking at my classmates during lectures, often looking very exhausted because they have worked long hours and did not manage to have the right amount of sleep. As a former student myself, I completely understand how hard it is to have the right balance between working and studying. Here, I will be sharing some of my top tips on how I managed to do it.

I only graduated in July 2016. I know how it feels to be a student and I am aware that it is not always easy!

  • Between juggling your time with all the societies you have subscribed to
  • Managing your timetable
  • Submitting assignments on time
  • Spending an insane amount of time in the library
  • Searching for work experience
  • Trying to earn some extra money

Well! The list is endless ….

I sometimes felt emotionally drained having to deal with everything all at once. However now that I have completed my degree, I feel accomplishment. It was not always easy, but I did it and it was worth all of my hard work.

Whenever I lost my concentration, I tried to take a day off everything. By that, I do not mean missing classes, I am talking about the weekends, or one of your days off university.

  • Go back home if that makes you feel secure
  • Skype with family members if that cheers you up
  • Watch a funny film you have probably already watched 10 times

capture-hmjbhjcapture-jkbk

Although having a part time job is important, being a student should be your first priority. Would you rather work long hours which could potentially affect your grades or would you rather work less hours and gain the grades you were wanting to achieve? You have to look at it like an investment, the reward comes later on.

The question you need to ask yourself is: What is more important to you now?

cf

There are several support services within the University here to help students to overcome any problems they might be facing.

My top tips are:

  • Start your assignments early
  • Allow yourself one day of freedom whether it is a weekday or a weekend
  • 16 hours is a good amount of hours to work and still relax
  • Don’t be so hard on yourself when you feel exhausted, because that just means that you are a hard worker and trying to achieve your goals
  • Remember that you also have a social life
  • Keep in touch with your friends and Family
  • Most importantly, enjoy this stage of your life and be happy

For additional support in finding part-time work, placements, work experience or advice in balancing work and study .come and chat to us in the Employability Hub.

