emily

Name: Emily Goodier

Course: BA (Hons) Sociology

Why did you decide to take part in the Futures Award programme?

I felt I lacked experience that would give me an edge when looking for a job after graduation. Not knowing exactly what I wanted to do made it hard to commit to just one kind of experience. When I came across the Futures Award, I saw that I could gain experience and opportunities from a complete range of academic disciplines and career prospects throughout the year alongside my classes. It was the perfect solution!

Has the Futures Award programme given you the confidence to try something that you may not have done before?

Absolutely! I’m quite an introvert around new people, but the Futures Award allowed me to push myself in a safe, friendly environment, with other people who were like me. By the end of the award I had definitely gained confidence.

Would you recommend the Futures Award to current students?

Yes! The beauty of the award is that it offers experiences, opportunities and workshops that are both specific to particular academic disciplines and careers, but there are also some great non-specific opportunities. Because of this, I met people from similar courses and people from across the university who I would never have met otherwise!

Has the Futures Award programme helped you to prepare for your future career?

The Futures Award has helped me to prepare for my future career, but even more, it has helped me to realise what I want to do! By attending workshops and classes, I realised that I love learning new things and started to really admire the tutors and experts who delivered sessions through Futures. Through this, I realised that I too would love to teach enthusiastic students and learn from them. Once I realised this, I could tailor the workshops I attended to demonstrate to employers that I have come into contact with the skills they look for in a future teacher, for example, the leadership award.

Can you summarise Futures in one word or sentence?

Too good to miss 🙂

Interested in taking part in the Futures Skills Award? Find out more here!

