Computing graduate Halima secured a role at Manchester Met as an Intern for Registry Services, giving her the opportunity to use the skills and knowledge used during her degree to work on web and design projects across the University. Halima tells us more about the application process and gives her advice for other students thinking of applying for the scheme.

Halima

Why did you decide to apply for an internship role at Manchester Met?
I decided to apply for the internship at Manchester Met as I thought it was a good chance for me to gain experience as I didn’t gain much work experience during my degree. My internship also related to my course, therefore I knew it would help me to secure a role in my degree field in the near future.

Where was the role advertised and what was the application/interview process?
The role was advertised on the main Manchester Met jobs website. I had to submit an application online and state how I met each requirement in the job specification in order to be shortlisted. Once my application was submitted I received an email inviting me for an interview. I attended my interview and then received a phone call the following day to inform me that I had secured the positon.

What kind of work experience and employability skills in your opinion have helped you to secure an internship at Manchester Met?
The main reason I believe I secured an internship at Manchester Met was because I am a computing graduate and my internship related to web development. I had the skills and experience from my degree in order to complete the daily tasks of the role. The fact I had achieved a first class honours degree also proved to the panel that I am capable of the role due to my experience. In the interview, I was able to use my degree work and skills as evidence to answer the panel’s questions successfully.

What advice would you give to final year students who are thinking to apply for internships at Manchester Met?
I would definitely recommend that you look into the different internships available at Manchester Met. There is a wide range of internships available both related to your degree or even something very different to develop new skills and gain experience in the working world.

Looking back, what advice would you give to our final year students to better prepare themselves for the interview process?
I would recommend that you do your research and make sure you understand what the company/department do including information such as recent achievements and news. Also, prepare yourself a list of interview questions. By preparing a set of questions that you could possibly be asked, you will be more organised.

If you are graduating in 2016 you can apply now for paid internships at Manchester Met! Check out the roles available here. More vacancies will be added over the coming weeks. 

