Becky Jenkinson graduated from MMU in 2014 with a degree in Marketing Management. In January 2015, Becky secured an 8 week internship with Manchester creative agency Nuttersons through the MMU GradMatch scheme. Here, she reflects on her experience and the benefits of doing an internship after graduation:

I have just completed a two month Marketing Internship at Nuttersons, a new creative agency based in Manchester city-centre. The internship was part of the amazing MMU Gradmatch scheme, which enables recent MMU graduates to complete a paid internship.

Gradmatch places recent graduates with local employers on short-term internships whilst providing the employer with funding. The support that I received from the University was great. After completing an application form, the GradMatch team matched my requirements and interests with the employers that had registered.  I was soon invited for interviews with a couple of companies, and attended one with Nuttersons on the 2nd January.  

The next day I was offered the role and this is where my adventure began. I accepted the offer and started a few days later. Over the two months of my Marketing internship at Nuttersons I worked fairly independently on a project which I could see through from start to finish. With Nuttersons being a new agency, my role was to get the Nuttersons brand out there and attract local customers to the company. Having just completed a degree in Marketing it was great to be working on a brief relevant to the skills I had learnt at MMU.

Within the initial ideas stage I came up with over 40 ways Nuttersons could market themselves. My time at Nuttersons was spent completing the following: researching and signing up to business directories, placing classified adverts e.g. on Gumtree, and implementing and managing a competition where a North West based start-up could win a website worth £5,000. My time spent at Nuttersons was successful as I managed to help them to obtain a new client and receive an increased number of new business enquiries.

 Throughout the duration of the internship, I also attended a range of events with Nuttersons, this was a great experience for my own personal development as it allowed me to enhance my networking skills. From completing the internship, I have learnt more about how small businesses work and develop. I enjoyed working independently and having my own project to see through which was definitely relevant and used the knowledge and skills I obtained from my Marketing degree at MMU.

 I highly recommend anyone, both undergraduates and postgraduates, to complete an internship. They enable you to experience different companies and sectors, and help you to seek out what you want to do, and equally do not want to do. Since graduating last year, I have completed two completely different internships, Nuttersons and three months at an online subscription company in London. Both enabled me to have some very different experiences and learn key transferable skills. I am about to go travelling for a couple of months and my CV will look great when I return.

If you are graduating in 2015 and interested in GradMatch, please check our website http://www.mmu.ac.uk/careers/gradmatch/students for further information

